Anders Behring Breivik has a number and it´s 21

Posted: August 24, 2012 by jennroig in Articles, Commentary, English
Tags: , , , ,

csmonitor.com

I’ve just found this piece of news: Anders Behring Breivik has been sentenced to 21 years.

This guy Anders Behring Breivik was found finally sane by a Norwegian court and sentenced to 21 years by Judge Wenche Elisabeth Arntzen.

My first reaction was to be furious. How come a guy that kills 77 unarmed kids gathered in an island to promote peace, tolerance and understanding ends up being sentenced to only 21 years? Forget whether he´s a lunatic or not, that judge was crazy!

But a German friend clarified that for me. That’s the maximum penalty in Norway: 21 years. But periodically his sentence will be reviewed and declare he´s too dangerous to be released, so he will likely spend the rest of his life in prison. And that´s for me the creepy word of that statement: “likely”.

Another creepy observation made by BBC: “Breivik smiled as the judgement was read out”. Go, check the clip, don’t you want to punch his smile?

Now, I thanked my friend his clarification regarding the work arounds of the legal system in Norway, and mentioned I would stop writing the post I was thinking to publish on this blog, bitching about the sentence and its injustice. His answer brought me a surprise, as he said that I could still bitch about the fact he was found sane. And that has made me think.

I don’t believe Breivik is crazy. I do believe he’s evil, wrong, misplaced in this world, a bad seed, a waste of food, air and water that any other human being could be better having, but I don’t believe in his insanity.

And I know that this guy would suffer much more if that court would have found him crazy, but even if he smiled while listening to the judge, that’s no reason to declare insane a sane guy. No! The thing is that someone has to make sure that dude never leave prison, and while in prison, he should be forced to hear… I don’t know… whatever music he hates the most, maybe arab music, considering he says he hates muslims. He should be force to work, in solitude, producing something… toys for Palestine kids. The sentence to this guy should consider somehow a way for him to do some good, no matter against his will, considering he is breathing and eating and consuming what other people, Norwegians, produce. That guy will be living thanks to the taxes that the parents’ of those 77 murdered kids pay. And that´s why I so firmly believe he should be forced somehow to contribute with some good cause from now on, while in prison, for the rest of his miserable life.

Leave a Reply

