The vote

Posted: November 2, 2012 by jennroig in Articles, Commentary, English
Tags: , , , , ,

As November 6 comes closer, it’s next the moment when the world will know which one will lead the USA, whether Romney or Obama.

I’m stunned by the increasing number of Americans who have told me they don’t care to vote, because they don’t like either candidate. I kind of understand. Romney is, to say the least, half way between boring and disgusting, and as I don’t have a million bucks, it’s hard for me to relate with his agenda. Obama, on the other hand… well, he hasn’t been great respecting and protecting personal liberties, he hasn’t closed Guantanamo, and he has wasted a lot of time been “persuasive”.

Not that I care, because I’m not American. I don’t care about this particular election but…. But, I do believe in going out and voting, even if it’s to decide among two not so hot choices. As a child born and raised in a dictatorship, I do believe it’s a duty, a civic duty and not only a citizen right, to go to vote. In that sense, every country should be like Brazil, where citizens are required by law to vote.

I’m 30 and I haven’t been able to vote for real, not yet. If I could I would, even if it’s to pick the least annoying and damaging of the choices.

Leave a Reply

