What you can learn from moving around

Posted: November 13, 2012 by jennroig in Commentary, English, Miscellaneous
Tags: , , ,

I’m trying to put some order in my aunt’s closet. Please wish me good luck because I’m very much needing it!

Still, I have some piece of wisdom to share with the world, or with whom ever find this post anyway and have the patience to read it.

I’ve been moving around quite often for more than three years, and there’s something I’ve learnt:

– You can get dressed very decently with pretty much the content of two big trollers, even in a cold snowy weather.

– You don’t need tons of shoes (and God knows how much I love shoes!), because most of them, after you used them at your cousin’s wedding or your own college graduation, you won’t wear them anymore. So, give them to your younger sister or her friend or the girl next door…

– If you keep a full closet, overloaded closet, packed closet, where you can’t find a thing, chances are that you will never find what you need, when you need it, and then you will have to go out and buy it again, to keep storing sh%/& .

– You don’t have that particular thing, even if you think you do, if you don’t knthw how to find it when the time comes for you to use it.

– A lot of stored stuffs accumulates dust, dust are great for germs, and some germs make you sick. Ergo, not getting rid of stuffs is unhealthy.

– Hoarding is another term to define accumulation of sh”&%. You don’t want to be a hoarder.

– Packing light will make your travel experience way more pleasant!

– You don’t need a lot of fancy stuffs which are per se uncomfortable. Life gets so much nicer when you wear comfy clothes and shoes.

– It’s annoying to decide what to keep and what to throw. Prevent yourself from that moment.

– Think how much good you’ll do to this planet of you don’t buy all those things that at the end you will throw to the trash. Disposing of rubbish is a global problem!

That’s all for now. If you can add something new to this list, don’t hesitate to share it!

…….

My friend Patricia, Spanish, fellow journalist and eternal free spirit adds to this list:

“I try to give all my clothing choices a meaning. At the moment, I have three main rules when I buy new stuff: 1) It has to be on sale: clothes shops earn too much money anyway. It gets immoral at a certain point. 2) I have to really, really like the item, otherwise I don’t go for it. 3) It has to be bike-friendly, which means no flare trousers, uncomfy skirts or high heels. : ) I never own too much clothing as a result”.

Seriously, if you have any other tip or have any other adive to offer, shot me and I’ll include it!

Comments
  1. jennroig says:

    Oh, something more! I do keep a souvenir or an evocative object from time to time. I bet you do it as well. But even some of those have lost meaning over time, so I get rid of them. Keeping them it’s like not allowing myself to move forward.

Leave a Reply

