Some random thoughts

Posted: June 21, 2013 by jennroig in Chronicles, English, Miscellaneous
Tags: , , , ,

Hello world!

LeBron James without head band

LeBron James without head band

I’ve not been blogging lately. The reason has been basically that I’ve been trapped in family. But I have managed to keep some track to what’s happening out there. And then I have some take away on it.

1. Miami Heat  won second NBA title: Awesome. Pretty cool. Congrats Miami. I actually watched the last two games and it was heartbreaking. But as I had no skin in the game, I was able to impartially observe other people’s reactions. I must say, it’s amazing how fanatism clouds people’s judgement.

I heard about a certain conspiracy theory – that the games were arranged so each team would win a game and the series would last till the seventh and last game, which would make more money out of public and advertisement – based only on the fact that each team was winning and losing intermittently, and that the Heat was showing a very different level of game.

So, I’m not going to rule anything out, but I honestly believe that’s ridiculous. There’s way too much money involved with the interest of keeping that game clean. Money for the athletes, the owners, shareholders and stakeholders. To think that the series is fixed out an even outcome, it’s not only crazy, it has no logic at all. This is not 1919, this is not the time for a scandal Black Socks style.

To say the least, a superstar as LeBron James, or Dwyane Wade playing for the Heat, or Ginobili, Parker and Duncan playing for the Spurs have no need to sell their souls to the devil for a few bucks, because they have plenty of those. Plus, the more they win, the more they’ll get. LeBron James is already among the best paid athletes. He made 59.8 millions only out of “all salaries and bonuses paid out between June 1, 2012 and June 1, 2013”. Check this entry on Forbes. Am I right to understand that his earnings quite depend on his ability to be a basketball clean superstar?

2. NSA and privacy: Edward Snowden has recently confirmed to the world something that anyone with a minimum sense of information, reasoning and awareness had already known for quite a while: communications are not private, anyone and everyone could be under surveillance. However, the issue was picked by international media as if th this was suddenly a reason to freak out.
I don’t mean I’m not upset about it, I mean I got over it so long ago. Who was still thinking that phone calls and emails were private? Even less social media activity. Get over it, whatever you don’t want anyone else to know, use personal, face to face conversation. Or maybe send an actual paper letter. I don’t know. But believing an email is private, or can’t be hacked, it’s stupid. Face it, Google knows absolutely everything about you. But the cool thing is that if you are a regular person, it doesn’t matter.

3. Climate change and global warming: The situation is at its worst ever, and it looks like no one cared. By the way, the biggest climate summit is on its way, in case you may want to learn a bit about it.

4. Games of Thrones – The Rains of Castamere: Mind blowing. The biggest emotional impact I felt in years. I know, there has to be something really wrong with me if I get such high emotional punch out of a TV show and not real life. But things are what they are.

5. Winter, please, come back.

Leave a Reply

