Shopping cute

Posted: July 7, 2013 by jennroig in Chronicles, English, Miscellaneous, Photography, Travels
Tags: , , , , ,

I travel light. I consider a great personal achievement when I manage to pack everything I need in a backpack so I don’t need to wait for any luggage when I finally get out of the plane. And to keep my backpack light, I avoid eye contact with whatever may be on the other side of a glass in a store.

In Catania, Sicily, Italy - Maniglie "hand knockers"

In Catania, Sicily, Italy – Maniglie “hand knockers”

Still, sometimes I surprise myself. Nice surprises, like this one in Catania. Catania is the second populated and most important city in Sicily, the Mediterranean island at the south of Italy.

I found a small business that offered to fix, or was selling, knockers. The word for knocker in Italian is maniglia for singular and maniglie for the plural.

Florence, Italy, 2011.

Florence, Italy, 2011.

The Spanish word for it, taken centuries ago from the Moros, is way better. Even romantic. It’s aldaba.

In fact, Catania’s doors were full of aldabas. The aldabas showed the most creative, different and beautiful designs.

So, yes, I avoid shopping. But sometimes the merchandise has been so creatively showcased, and the way it has been arranged behind the glasses is so interesting or amusing, that you may have a hard time guessing whether it’s an art exhibition or an invitation to shop.

I dare anyone to tell me the exact meaning of this landscape I saw in Forence some day on June, 2011.

There are times when I intentionally pay attention to whatever is offered by the merchants. That’s mostly when I’m in one of those local fairs where local artisans are showing their handicrafts, like these wollen dolls from Chile or the collection of naive paintings.

Muñecas de Vellón de Lana, Santiago de Chile, 2012.

Muñecas de Vellón de Lana, Santiago de Chile, 2012.

Chilean Paintings, Santiago de Chile, 2012.

Chilean Paintings, Santiago de Chile, 2012.

Other times, it’s just simply cute, like this communion cake made for a kid in Vianden, Luxembourg.

First Communion Cake, Luxembourg, 2011.

First Communion Cake, Luxembourg, 2011.

Dutch Shoes, Haarlem, The Netherlands, 2011.

Dutch Shoes, Haarlem, The Netherlands, 2011.

I’m not even going to startwith the food. Food is so delicious and diverse within different cultures that is a topic by itself.

Souvenirs though tend to consume a lot of my travelling time.

Haarlem, The Netherlands, 2011.

Haarlem, The Netherlands, 2011.

And that’s a temptation I’m not always that strong to resist, considering they tend to be cute, small, light, and very representative of the spot I’m visiting.

Tourist mindset, I know. Mea Culpa.

And when it comes to souvenirs, Dutch stores are really prodigal.

Besides clocks and of course the classic wooden shoes,  you can find the most peculiar key chains and posters.

I felt attracted by these ones I found in a little store in Haarlem, a small town near Amsterdam.

Let’s call it crazy vamp kids to No. 1.

keys 2And cute teeny mummies to No. 2.

keysSometimes the surprise gets scarier, when you eventually realized you are looking to your blurry self.

Glasses, some place, some time

Glasses, some place, some time

Leave a Reply

