Sirens are ringing in northern Chile

Posted: April 1, 2014 by jennroig in Chronicles, English
Tags: ,

I just read the headline on Twitter: Al Jazeera: “Major earthquake, estimated at magnitude 8.0, recorded 83 kilometers northwest of Iquique, Chile-

USGS

USGS

As I write, there are sirens in Chile ringing, warning citizens and tourist to evacuate the coast. A new tsunami is expected.

Then I felt the chill. I lived in Chile, in Santiago, between September 2011 and October 2012. I found out there that tremors and earthquakes are my limit. My personal, mental, limit.

RT: “MORE: Landslides blocking some roads after emergency office

However, I did felt the chill, again, for a moment. That wave of coldness that runs through the spine, and spreads in the stomach. I have friends in Chile. I have friends in Peru. As soon as I read the headline, very specific faces came to my mind. I have heard from some friends and felt relief for them. I’m still worried for some others.

Somehow, it’s difficult to completely abandon places. Some part of us will always stay behind.

Leave a Reply

